Northern Mexico continue their dominance in the Primera Division


(Photo by Lintao Zhang/Getty Images)

In recent times, Mexican Football has been dominated by the northern based clubs of the country.

Santos Laguna, Monterrey, Tigres and Tijuana have fielded strong and dominate sides in recent campaigns. Without a doubt they are the main protagonists in every single tournament during the last five years.

Santos Laguna are the current Mexican champions, with great players in their squad and an excellent local legend in Benjamin Galindo there are high expectations from the club. Galindo is also still considered the most talented player ever to have played in México.

Record goalkeeper Oswaldo Sánchez has more than 600 appearances in the First Division since 1993. United States international striker Hérculez Gómez continues to show his worth every weekend with Santos. Panamanian defender Felipe Baloy is another well known player on the squad thanks to his strength and speed.

Santos won the 2012 Clausura with authority and currently are competing at the CONCACAF Champions League with some success.

Tigres and Monterrey, both from the Mexican State of Nuevo León, have given a lot of joy for their supporters as well in recent campaigns.

Monterrey won the National Championship in 2009 and in 2010 and are currently the two time defending CONCACAF Champions League winners having claimed the title in both 2011 and in 2012. The Rayados participated in the 2011 FIFA Club World Championship in Japan and will be playing the tournament again next December as the CONCACAF representatives to the competition.

Monterrey is a solid team and their manager Victor Manuel Vucetich has won almost every single final in his career having only lost the last tournament’s decisive match against Santos.

Jonathan Orozco plays a key role in goal for the club, while José María Basanta and young rising star Hiram Mier anchor the club’s defense. Jesús Zavala controls the game from the midfield and pulls the strings to the attacking pair of Humberto Suazo and Aldo de Nigris.

Tigres won the National Championship in 2011. Former Brazilian playmaker, Ricardo Ferretti leads the club and commands respect with his experience as one of the few managers to have had more than 800 games as a coach in the Mexican First Division.

Tigres’ main stars are Argentinean playmaker Lucas Lobos and the Spanish striker Luis García Fernández who scored two goals last weekend against Cruz Azul. Both are true club idols to the fans of their city.

Tijuana are the the current leaders with 19 points. The Xolos are a very young team having only been founded in 2007. The club fought hard to move up the ranks of the Mexican football league and were promoted in 2011.

Argentinean Antonio Mohamed manages a set of stars that includes Argentine international Alfredo Moreno, Colombian Duvier Riascos, and Mexico’s Fernando Arce who have all played a fundamental role in Tijuana’s movement to the Premiera Division.

The northern side of México has dominated football in recent times, a positive thing and a strong message to the main sides of the country, that competition will be harder than ever.

Posted in: Mexico

Post a Comment